Our state wildlife department, Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
(TWRA), does a great job overall but our license requirements can be
pretty confusing sometimes. Below is a basic outline of the
requirements. Like most states, our hunting laws and hunting license
requirements change a little just about every year. I will try to update
this page to keep it accurate, but this page is for reference only.
Visit the TWRA website
for the most up to date pricing and regulations.
Tennessee non-resident license fees for the 2012-2013 hunting season are
- Junior 7-day Small Game, type 070 - youths 13-15 years,
$9 (coyote, small game)
- Junior All Game Annual, type 086 - youths 13-15 years,
$40 (boar, deer, turkey, coyote)
- 7-day Small Game, type 072 - hunters 16 years or older $50.50
(coyote, small game)
- 7-day All Game, type 074 - hunters 16 years or older,
$175.50 (boar, deer, turkey, coyote)
- All Game Annual, type 073 - hunters 16 years and older,
$251 (boar, deer, turkey, coyote)
Tennessee hunting licenses can be purchased at sporting goods stores and
Wal-mart stores throughout the state. They can also be
purchased on-line. Be sure you to talk to me BEFORE you buy your
license. License requirements change, we want to make sure you get
the correct license type for the property you are hunting.
You do NOT need a Tennessee State Hunting license if:
If you hunt game or attempt to hunt game by any method or if you
assist someone else to do so, you must have a valid hunting license.
There are some exceptions that apply to our hunting properties:
- If you are hunting our guaranteed hunts inside the fence (it is
- Military personnel on leave carrying leave papers.
- You are a Tennessee resident born before March 1, 1926 (with proof of age
- Resident and nonresident youths under 13. Hunters ages 10-12 need
only a hunter education certificate to hunt. However, youths 6-16
hunting big game on a WMA must have a valid Type 094 or Type 095
permit or quota permit, as applicable.